

CSA Weekly Update

November 23, 2016

A research and advocacy association, supporting efficient, responsive county government in Arizona.



In the November 23, 2016, CSA Weekly Update:

- Happy Thanksgiving!
- House & Senate Committee Membership Announced
- VIDEO: 2016 CSA Summit Recap
- This Week in Arizona History...
- Interim Committee Agendas
- NACo Webinar
- <u>Calendar</u>

Wishing Everyone a Happy Thanksgiving!



Top

House & Senate Committee Membership Announced

This week the new Senate President Steve Yarbrough and new House Speaker J.D. Mesnard, both announced the majority membership and leadership of the legislative committees for the 2017 session. Please note both Senate Minority Leader Katie Hobbs and the House Minority Leader Rebecca Rios, are expected to announce the minority membership for the committees in the coming weeks.

Please see below for committee detail.

Senate Committees

Appropriations	Health and Human Services		
Sen. Debbie Lesko – Chair	Sen. Nancy Barto – Chair		
Sen. John Kavanagh – Vice Chair			
Sen. Sylvia Allen	Sen. Kate Brophy McGee – Vice Chair Sen. Debbie Lesko		
Sen. Steve Montenegro			
Sen. Warren Petersen	Sen. Steve Montenegro		
Sen. Steve Smith	Sen. Kimberly Yee		
Commerce and Public Safety	Judiciary		
Sen. Steve Smith – Chair	Sen. Judy Burges – Chair		
Sen. Warren Petersen – Vice Chair	Sen. Nancy Barto – Vice Chair		
Sen. Sonny Borrelli	Sen. Frank Pratt		
Sen. David Farnsworth	Sen. Bob Worsley		
Sen. Bob Worsley			
Education	Natural Resources, Energy and Water		
Sen. Sylvia Allen – Chair	Sen. Gail Griffin – Chair		
Sen. Steve Montenegro – Vice Chair	Sen. Frank Pratt – Vice Chair		
Sen. Kate Brophy McGee	Sen. Sylvia Allen		
Sen. Steve Smith	Sen. Judy Burges		
Sen. Kimberly Yee	Sen. Karen Fann		
,			
Finance	Rules		
Sen. David Farnsworth – Chair	President Steve Yarbrough – Chair		
Sen. Karen Fann – Vice Chair	Sen. Kimberly Yee – Vice Chair		
Sen. Sonny Borrelli	Sen. Gail Griffin		
Sen. Warren Petersen	Sen. Debbie Lesko		
Government	Transportation and Technology		
Sen. John Kavanagh – Chair	Sen. Bob Worsley – Chair		
Sen. Sonny Borrelli – Vice Chair	Sen. Karen Fann – Vice Chair		
Sen. David Farnsworth	Sen. Kate Brophy McGee		
Sen. Gail Griffin	Sen. Frank Pratt		

House Committees

Committee on Rules	Committee on Energy, Environment	Committee on Appropriations
Rep. Lovas, Chair	& Natural Resources	Rep. Shooter, Chair
Rep. Boyer, Vice Chair	Rep. Bowers, Chair	Rep. Livingston, Vice Chair
Rep. Allen	Rep. Barton, Vice Chair	Rep. Bowers
Rep. Farnsworth	Rep. Cook	Rep. Carter
Rep. Shope	Rep. Leach	Rep. Cobb
Rep. Townsend	Rep. Mosley	Rep. Leach
	Rep. Udall	Rep. Norgaard
	nop. Gaan	Rep. Rivero
		Rep. Ugenti-Rita
Committee on Banking & Insurance	Committee on Ways & Means	Sub-Committee on Appropriations—
Rep. Livingston, Chair	Rep. Ugenti-Rita, Chair	Education
Rep. Farnsworth, Vice Chair	Rep. Leach, Vice Chair	Rep. Norgaard, Chair
Rep. Lovas	Rep. Kern	Rep. Carter, Vice Chair
Rep. Mosley	Rep. Lawrence	· · ·
Rep. Weninger	Rep. Payne	
, 3	Rep. Weninger	
Committee on Military, Veterans &	Committee on Judiciary & Public	Sub-Committee on Appropriations—
Regulatory Affairs	Safety	Health & Welfare
Rep. Lawrence, Chair	Rep. Farnsworth, Chair	Rep. Cobb, Chair
Rep. Finchem, Vice Chair	Rep. Kern, Vice Chair	Rep. Rivero, Vice Chair
Rep. Campbell	Rep. Boyer	•
Rep. Grantham	Rep. Finchem	
Rep. Kern	Rep. Stringer	
·	Rep. Syms	
Committee on Commerce	Committee on Transportation &	Sub-Committee on Appropriations—
Rep. Weninger, Chair	Infrastructure	Public Safety, Infrastructure &
Rep. Norgaard, Vice Chair	Rep. Campbell, Chair	Resources
Rep. Clodfelter	Rep. John, Vice Chair	Rep. Leach, Chair
Rep. Mitchell	Rep. Cook	Rep. Livingston, Vice Chair
Rep. Shope	Rep. Mosley	
Rep. Syms	Rep. Payne	
Committee on Education	Committee on Land, Agriculture &	Joint Legislative Audit Committee
Rep. Boyer, Chair	Rural Affairs	Rep. Kern, Chair
Rep. Coleman, Vice Chair	Rep. Barton, Chair	
Rep. Bowers	Rep. Mitchell, Vice Chair	
Rep. Norgaard	Rep. Cook	
Rep. Nutt	Rep. Grantham	
Rep. Shooter	Rep. Nutt	
Rep. Stringer		
Rep. Udall		

Committee on Government Rep. Coleman, Chair Rep. Thorpe, Vice Chair Rep. Clodfelter Rep. John Rep. Ugenti-Rita	Committee on Health Rep. Carter, Chair Rep. Cobb, Vice Chair Rep. Lawrence Rep. Rivero Rep. Syms Rep. Udall	Committee on Administration Rep. Shope, Chair
Committee on Federalism, Property Rights & Public Policy Rep. Thorpe, Chair Rep. Finchem, Vice Chair Rep. Campbell Rep. Grantham Rep. Payne Rep. Stringer	Committee on Local & International Affairs Rep. Rivero, Chair Rep. Clodfelter, Vice Chair Rep. John Rep. Nutt	Committee on Ethics Rep. Farnsworth, Chair

Top

VIDEO: 2016 CSA Summit Recap



Please click on the <u>video</u> above to view a brief summary of our 2016 CSA Legislative Summit. We would like to extend a special thanks to our friends from Yuma County for their assistance in creating this <u>video</u>.

Top

This Week in Arizona History...

On November 20, 1889, Pearl Hart, Arizona's legendary female bandit, was tried and convicted in Florence for robbing a stagecoach. Hart was the only woman ever recorded as having committed that crime which was also one of the last stagecoach robberies in the U.S.



Desperate for money to pay for her mother's medical care, Hart and her partner robbed a stagecoach running from Globe to Florence. Hart was sentenced to five years for the crime; however, she served a portion of sentence at the Territorial Prison in Yuma. Arizona's then governor, A.W. Brodie, released Hart on the grounds that the state prison had no real accommodations for women.

<u>Top</u>

Interim Committee Agendas

- The Joint Legislative Review Committee on State Plans Relating to Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Existing Power Plants will meet on Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. in Senate Hearing Room 109.
- The House Ad Hoc Committee on Use Fuel Taxes will meet on Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. in House Hearing Room 5.

Top

NACo Webinar

• Energizing Counties: Strategies and Tools to Improve Your County's Energy Efficiency will take place on December 1, 2016, from 2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. (EST) This webinar will explore how counties are innovating to improve the energy efficiency of county assets, and assist residents and businesses with improving their energy efficiency.

To register, please click here.

Top



County Supervisors Association of Arizona

1905 W. Washington, Suite 100 Phoenix, Arizona 85009 www.countysupervisors.org

www.countysupervisors.org
Leadership / Research / Advocacy / Newsletter / Speakers / Counties / Alliances / Calendar / Contact

To remove your name from our mailing list, please click here.

Questions or comments? Email us at csaupdate@countysupervisors.org or call us at 602-252-5521.